Sports Hall of Fame

Over the years, Holmes Community College has seen some fantastic athletes come through its doors. Many of those have gone on to compete at four-year schools and some even professionally.

The Alumni Association honors many of these male and female athletes during Homecoming Activities each year. The Holmes Community College Sports Hall of Fame has been organized to recognize former coaches and athletes who made major contributions to intercollegiate athletics while attending Holmes Community College.

Forms Nomination Form

The selection criteria is as follows:

  1. The recipients shall have been out of school for at least 10 years.
  2. Consideration shall be given to the number of sports in which he or she participated and excelled.
  3. Accomplishments after graduation may be considered.
  4. Support of Holmes Community College may be considered.
  5. The committee shall elect to the Hall of Fame each year not more than eight persons, of whom one may be elect posthumously.
  6. Inductees must be able to attend induction ceremonies. In the event of a posthumous induction, a representative of the family must be able to attend.
  7. Nominations may be submitted to the Director of Alumni Affairs and must be in writing and supported by documented material before they may be considered.
  8. The selection committee may choose one alternate each year who will be given preferential consideration the following year.
  9. If a nominee is not selected the year his or her name is submitted, his or her name shall be retained for future consideration by the selection committee.
  10. A three-fourths vote of the committee shall be required for election into the Hall of Fame, and no election shall be valid unless as many as five members of the committee are present and voting. No proxy or absentee votes will be permitted.
  11. Nominations should be sent to Coordinator of Alumni, Katherine Ellard, at P.O. Box 369 Goodman, MS 39079. Nominations should include supporting information on the individual's lifetime sports activities. For more information, call (662) 472.9134 or email Katherine Ellard,

Past Recipients


  • Angela Bounds- Stevenson, Women's Basketball
  • Shaston Coleman, Football
  • Michael Ellis, Football and Baseball
  • Clarence Harmon, Jr., Baseball, Track and Football
  • William Farris Jenkins, Baseball
  • Don Wynne, Baseball


  • Michael Avalon, Baseball
  • Tim Bell, Football
  • Claude Gunter, Tennis
  • Jerrelyn Redmond Jackson, Women's Basketball
  • Cadman Porter, Football
  • Randy Shields, Tennis
  • Hugh Shurden, Football Coach and Administrator
  • Stephen Waggener, Baseball


  • Chris Avery, Football
  • Laura Coleman Canard, Basketball
  • Richard Chisolm, Football
  • Sherwood Colette, Baseball
  • Terry Day, Football
  • Michael Jones, Baseball
  • W.A. Miles, Basketball Coach
  • Clint Tompkins, Football


  • Roy Oswalt, Baseball
  • Randy Martin, Football and Baseball
  • Chris White, Football
  • Candice Edwards Parish, Basketball and Softball
  • Xan Barksdale, Baseball
  • Duane Starks, Football
  • Walter Jones, Football
  • Bradly S. MacNealy, Football and Baseball


  • Robert Lynn Rose, Basketball
  • Ricky Joe Black, Football
  • Marvin D. Taylor, Basketball
  • Reginald "Reggie" Tiller, Football


  • A.J. Kilpatrick, Football Coach
  • Alvin McKinley, Football
  • Don Phillips, Baseball and Basketball
  • Lance Pogue, Football
  • David Springer, Track and Basketball 


  • Ras Branch, Coach, President
  • Ray Clower, Football
  • Tommy Guthrie, Football
  • Tonya Dawson Sims, Women's Basketball


  • Milton Griffin, Men's Basketball
  • Frank Branch, Coach, President
  • Dick Johnson,Men's Basketball and Baseball
  • Walter Van Allen, Football and Track


  • Bobby "Monkey" Grantham, Football and Track
  • Artie Hendricks, Football
  • Vicki Phillips Dyer Minninger, Women's Basketball
  • Franks Shaw, Football and Track


Bennie Kimble, Men's Basketball
Monty Perry, Football
Kenny Taylor, Football
Roy "Luke" Terry, Football


Hank James, Football and Track
Sonny Smith, Men's Basketball
Jerry Stewart, Football
Robert Wright, Football and Baseball


Charles "Foozy" Dyer, Basketball
Bette Smith Edwards, Women's Basketball
Greg Robinson, Football
Alan Wallace, Football


Ricky Casey, Basketball
Kim Wingard Fuller, Women's Basketball
Bobby Pirkle, Football
Woody Simpson, Track


Randy Baldwin, Football
Billy Bell, Football
Charlie Grant, Basketball
Retha Gree, Women's Basketball


Robert Alexander, Football
Larry Therrell, Football and Baseball
Elton Wright, Track
James "Red" Free, Men's Basketball
John Prat,  Football


Billy Bowman, Football
Kathleen Bingham Buckley, Women's Basketball and Tennis
Luther Kuykendall, Football, Baseball and Track
Johnny Plumme,  Basketball, Baseball and Football


Robert Felton, 1950 State Championship Team Football
Joe Lynn Gant, Football and Track
Howard Guthrie, Men's Basketball
Charlotte McQuary, Football and Track
Joe Silverii, Football


Wayne Leonard, Football
Ken Herring, Football
Dr. Bobby Bell, Track and Football
James W. Busby, Basketball
Geraldine Mannin, Basketball


Edna Earl Edwards, Basketball
Frank Horn, Football and Baseball
David R. Oakes, Jr., Football and Baseball
Tommy Worthey, Track and Basketball


  • James E. Adams, Basketball
  • Jesse J. Atkins, Football
  • Dale Brasher, Football and Baseball
  • Homer Robertson, Football
  • Geneva B. Free, Basketball


  • Allen Abels, Football
  • Carlton Abels, Football
  • Cephus Abels, Football
  • John Ables, Football
  • Robert Brown, Football and Baseball
  • Melvin McFarland, Basketball
  • Rebecca K. Oswalt, Basketball
  • Aubrey Rozzell, Football and Baseball


  • Bill Bigby, Basketball
  • Paul Haynes, Football and Basketball
  • James E. Pannell, Football, Baseball and Basketball
  • Russell E. Reid. Football, Baseball, Basketball and Track
  • Mattye Collins Ruth, Basketball
  • Bill Taylor, Football


  • Donald Berry, Basketball
  • Ode Burrell, Football
  • Charlie Howard, Basketball
  • Mike Kinnison, Basketball
  • Wayne Sims, Football


  • Jeff Campbell, Football
  • Millard Davis, Basketball
  • Faye Graham Dillard, Basketball
  • Mel Gibson, Basketball
  • Earl "Dixie" Howell, Football
  • Thomas E. Nix, Football
  • Hugh Pepper, Baseball
  • Pattye Burton Wood, Basketball

Mississippi Community/Junior College Sports Hall of Fame

  • 2016 Mike Kinnison
  • 2015 Aubrey Rozzell
  • 2014 Ricky Black
  • 2013 Bennie Kimble
  • 2012 Dr. Donald E. Phillips
  • 2011 Faye Graham Dillard
  • 2010 Greg Robinson
  • 2009 Homer "Cotton" Robertson
  • 2008 Larry Therrell, Melvin Gibson
  • 2007 Ode Burrell, Hugh Pepper, Charlie Howard