If born outside the United States, graduated from a high school outside Mississippi, attended a college outside Mississippi or report an out-of-state address you must prove Mississippi residency.
- If 21 years of age and older provide two forms of approved documentation.
- If under 21 years of age, residency is determined by the parental residence.
- Provide two forms of approved documentation for the same parent.
- The student may be asked to provide a copy of the birth certificate that shows parent(s) and student name.
- Independent students must provide two forms of approved documentation indicating residency, and provide documentation proving their independence from parents or guardian.
Residency Documentation Deadlines
Two of the following items must be provided showing the name and address of the student, parent, and/or spouse proving residency. These items must be received in the Admissions Office by the following deadlines to avoid out-of-state fees:
- The deadline to clarify residency and have your fees removed for the fall or spring term is 15 working days after final exams end.
- The deadline to clarify residency and have your fees removed for the summer term is 5 working days after final exams end.
List of Approved Residency Documentation
PLEASE NOTE: All documentation must PRE-DATE the first day of the term and be current. For example, a utility bill must be for the month prior to the beginning month of the term.
- Mississippi drivers license (Persons moving into the state on a permanent basis have 60 days per state law to acquire driver’s licenses)
- Mortgage document
- Homestead exemption
- Guardian documents (issued by MS Court)
- Emancipation documents
- Military orders
- State income tax return
- MS voter registration card
- Motor vehicle registration (Persons moving into the state on a permanent basis have 30 days per state law to register vehicles.)
- Employment documents (W-2 or paystub showing name, address, & MS taxes withheld)
- Utility bills (must have service address – must be for the month prior to the beginning month of the term)
- electric bill
- water bill
- gas bill
- land-line phone/internet/cable/satellite bill with service address
- Lease agreement (signed by lessor and lessee)
- State issued ID (MS Driver’s License or MS photo ID)
- Federal immigration documents
Any documentation in the name of a spouse must include the marriage license to tie the student to the spouse. If documentation is in the name of a parent, a birth certificate or court order of general guardianship must be used to tie the student to the parent.
PLEASE NOTE: Both documents must be for the same person (i.e. same parent, or both documents for the spouse).
If you have valid documentation to prove Mississippi residency, you may send it to the representative listed at the "Contact Us" link at the upper right by:
- emailing a scanned image or picture of the documents
- mailing the documents
- faxing the documents (faxing MS drivers license is not advised)