Request Info Enroll Now

STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics

Welcome to the Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics (STEM) page. We offer an Associate of Arts (AA) from a diverse course offering. Our graduates receive an excellent education and are competitive in entry to professional schools such as medical, dental and pharmacy, graduate schools and the entry level job market.

MISSION

Holmes Community College Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics (STEM) endeavors to meet the educational needs of students and the community in the natural sciences, mathematics, engineering, and computer science. Our goal is to prepare students for university transfer or entry into professional schools or the workforce.

Quality courses provide opportunities for majors and non-majors to develop skills in critical thinking and an appreciation of STEM. Our qualified and experienced faculty strives to assure student success through the use of personal advisement, effective instruction, and meaningful laboratory experiences.


PATHWAYS


CAREER CHOICES

  • View some Career Resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). Our faculty conducts mock interviews for students that desires practice before their actual interview at professional schools. Please use our links to assist you as you explore career opportunities.
  • You can do more with mathematics than you think. From pure mathematics to education to applied mathematics, there are many options for today’s mathematics majors in the work force. Take a look at a list of careers using a mathematics degree.
  • If you are looking for a strong income group for your future, look no further than a degree in computer science. Computer related fields are projected to grow by as much as 24 percent in the next 10 years. Check out some of the exciting opportunities for those with a degree in computer science.
  • If you’re determined to find a job that pays top dollar, you’d be wise to study math and science. Lucrative careers exist for the history, English and foreign language majors out there, too, but they’re harder to find. Take a look at the list of undergraduate degrees by salary: Best Undergrad College Degrees By Salary
  • Software buildings skills can score you a nice paycheck. And, if you can add management responsibilities to your job description, you’ll likely enjoy a six-figure annual salary. See PayScale’s list of the most popular computer science degree jobs and consider which role might suit you best.

CONTACTS

Dr. Antoine Gates
Chair for STEM Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics
Science Building East – Office 137
Ridgeland Campus
agates@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3328

Stephanie Blue
Associate Chair for Mathematics
Madison Hall – Office 104B
Ridgeland Campus
sblue@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3361

Dr. Durga Siwakoti
Associate Chair for Physics
Science & Mathematics Building –
Office 1C
Goodman Campus
dsiwakoti@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9102

Shae Wang
Associate Chair for Computer Science
Main Building – Office 201E
Grenada Campus
swang@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2339


MEET OUR INSTRUCTORS

Donna Ahlrich
Mathematics
Madison Hall – Office 102B
Ridgeland Campus
dahlrich@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3344

Lisa Anglin
Mathematics
Madison Hall – Office 104A
Ridgeland Campus
langlin@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3325

Stephanie Blue
Mathematics
Madison Hall – Office 104B
Ridgeland Campus
sblue@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3361

Jodie Burchfield
Mathematics
Science & Math Building – Office E
Goodman Campus
jburchfield@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9064

Tanya Crider
Biology
Virtual/
Goodman Campus
tcrider@holmescc.edu
(601) 794-8644

Dr. Samuel Dasary
Chemistry
Science Building East – Office 133
Ridgeland Campus
sdasary@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3379

Rosalyne Davis
Biology
Science Building East- Office 137
Ridgeland Campus
rdavis@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3317

Dr. Antoine Gates
Biology
Science Building East – Office 137
Ridgeland Campus
agates@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3328

Dr. Rekam Giri
Physics
Science Building East – Office 138
Ridgeland Campus
rgiri@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3353

Heather Jones
Chemistry
Science & Math – Office D
Goodman Campus
hjones@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9099

Donee McAllister
Biology
Science & Math Building – Office 14G
Goodman Campus
dmcallister@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9100

Dr. Kristy McClain
Biology & Chemistry
East Building – Office 103
Grenada Campus
kmcclain@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2319

Angela Miles
Mathematics
Computer Technology Building – Office C
Goodman Campus
amiles@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9171

Dr. K. Troy Milliken
Chemistry
Science Building East – Office 139
Ridgeland Campus
kmilliken@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3366

Larry Morgan
Computer Science
Ridgeland Hall 203-A
Ridgeland Campus
lmorgan@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3326

Jennie Pegg
Mathematics
Main Building – Office 201D
Grenada Campus
jpegg@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2323

Sara Pollan
Biology
East Building – Office 106
Grenada Campus
spollan@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2353

Mary Leigh Poole
Biology
Virtual/
Goodman Campus
mlpoole@holmescc.edu
(870) 937-6653

Jon Rost
Mathematics
Madison Hall – Office 102A
Ridgeland Campus
jrost@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3322

Jamie E. Sample
Biology
Science & Math Building – Office 15F
Goodman Campus
jsample@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9103

Dean Savage
Biology
East Building – Office 104
Grenada Campus
dsavage@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2364

Dr. Durga Siwakoti
Physics & Engineering
Science & Math Building – Office 1C
Goodman Campus
dsiwakoti@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9102

Shae Wang
Computer Science & Mathematics
Main Building – Office 201E
Grenada Campus
swang@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2339

Greg Wilson
Biology
Science Building East – Office 138
Ridgeland Campus
gwilson@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3369

Heather M. Wood
Mathematics
Main Building – Office 201H
Grenada Campus
hwood@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2327