Request Info Enroll Now

English & Foreign Language

Welcome to the English & Foreign Language homepage. Our highly qualified faculty provide language proficiency in areas such as reading and writing by offering courses in composition, literature, creative writing, foreign language, and speech. These courses are designed to prepare students for university transfer and/or productive employment. Of particular interest to many of our students are the General Studies Program, the Liberal Arts Program, and the Program for Secondary English, which can be found on our website.

MISSION

Holmes Community College English & Foreign Language provides proficiency in composition, literature, creative writing, foreign language, speech, and theater. Courses in these disciplines are designed to prepare students for university transfer and/or productive employment.  We offer cultural opportunities for the constituents of Holmes Community College through entertainment and student performance.


PATHWAYS


CAREER CHOICES

The critical and creative skills developed from studying language and literature prepare students for the workplace and community. Courses in composition, literature, and foreign language foster a broad range of thinking, writing, speaking, research, and listening skills. These skills can set students on a variety of career paths.

English
  • Academic careers: English teacher, English professor, school librarian
  • Business careers: salesperson, market researcher, analytical researcher, lobbyist, lawyer, paralegal
  • Journalistic careers: editor, publisher, news reporter, journalist, press secretary, public relations worker
Foreign language

High school or college teacher, interpreter, linguist, translator, teacher of English as a second language, travel agent, ambassador, tour guide


CONTACTS

Jessica Brown
Co-Chair for English & Foreign Language
McDaniel Hall – Office 23-A
Goodman Campus
jebrown@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9050

Amber Mabus
Co-Chair for English & Foreign Language
Main Building – Office 109C
Grenada Campus
aharrison@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2340

Ana Davenport
Associate Chair for Foreign Language
Madison Hall – Office 203E
Ridgeland Campus
adavenport@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3368

Dr. Amy Wolgamott
Associate Chair for Speech
Madison Hall – Office 105A
Ridgeland Campus
awolgamott@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3421


MEET OUR INSTRUCTORS

Sonja Arnett
English
Learning Resource Center – Office 11
Goodman Campus
sarnett@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9006

Jessica Brown
English
McDaniel Hall – Office 23-A
Goodman Campus
jebrown@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9050

Dr. Stacey Coulter
English
Madison Hall – Office 204B
Ridgeland Campus
scoulter@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3377

Ana Davenport
Spanish
Madison Hall – Office 203E
Ridgeland Campus
adavenport@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3368

Steve Deaton
English
Madison Hall – Office 202A
Ridgeland Campus
sdeaton@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3358

Jacob Hood
Public Speaking
Main Building – Office 109E
Grenada Campus
jhood@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2321

Dr. Andrew Kelly
English
Madison Hall – Office 202B
Ridgeland Campus
akelly@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3382

Amy Land
English
Main Building – Office 201L
Grenada Campus
aland@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2335

LaShonda Levy
English
McDaniel Hall – Office 22A
Goodman Campus
llevy@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9401

Amber Mabus
English
Main Building – Office 109C
Grenada Campus
aharrison@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2340

William Chadwick Moorer
English
McDaniel Hall – Office 21A
Goodman Campus
wmoorer@holmescc.edu
(662) 472-9009

Arnetra Pleas
English
Madison Hall – Office 203B
Ridgeland Campus
apleas@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3424

Erin Renfroe
English
Madison Hall – Office 203C
Ridgeland Campus
erenfroe@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-5281

Chanda Sykes
Spanish
East Building – Office 107
Grenada Campus
csykes@holmescc.edu
(662) 227-2377

Dr. Amy Wolgamott
Public Speaking
Madison Hall – Office 105A
Ridgeland Campus
awolgamott@holmescc.edu
(601) 605-3421